History Department Faculty & Projects

Faculty Members

Please click on the name for more information on faculty members.

Jeffrey Brautigam

brautgm@hanover.edu

George M. Curtis

curtis@hanover.edu

Nuan Gao

gao@hanover.edu

Daniel P. Murphy

murphy@hanover.edu

J. Michael Raley

raley@hanover.edu

Larry P. Thornton

thornton@hanover.edu

Matthew N. Vosmeier

vosmeier@hanover.edu

Sarah McNair Vosmeier

vosm@hanover.edu


Faculty and Student Organizations and Projects

The History Department invites all students--majors and non-majors alike--to participate in the following organizations and projects.

The history department has a long tradition of digitizing historical texts. Our Hanover Historical Texts Project (primary sources the department has made available online for college history classes) was one of the first of its kind. The Steamboat Adventure is a collection of primary sources on Nicholas and Lydia Roosevelt's pathbreaking 1811 trip down the Mississippi River, including material on the New Madrid earthquake and relations with Native Americans.

Other projects in digitizing history include Today in Hanover History (an almanac of primary sources on college history) and Documents on the History of Hanover College (primary sources from Hanover's past that the department makes available to the public, focusing especially on material from the college archives).

The Hanover Historical Review. Contribute as editor or author to this journal designed to promote excellence in undergraduate scholarship.

The History Club and Phi Alpha Theta. Help organize and participate in a variety of activities that will be of interest to history enthusiasts across campus.


Senior Theses

History majors do independent research and writing in their senior year. A sampling of recent theses is here.

Last Updated: April 25, 2014.